Fences installing itself back after uninstalling and using the purge tool

installs itself every time i open windows and i can't delete it cuz need code to activate

Windows Version Number: windows 11 25H2

I've been trying for 3 months to uninstall it,

Fences installing itself back after uninstalling and using the purge tool

when i use purge tool it tells me to not restart even tho it says restart afterwards i tried that it doesn't work

and i also tried purge tool and restaring but also same

idk what to do and it's become very annoying and feels like an ad on my windows at this point 

104 views 3 replies
Reply #1 Top

Hello,
Sorry to hear you are having issues. This is the very first time that I can remember that Fences install itself again after it have uninstalled. Just to be clear you did follow the Purge steps mentioned here: https://support.stardock.com/space/SHC/1332477959/Fences+purging+and+re-installing. You just need to reboot after the purge is done. 

When you said Fences installed itself on reboot. Did you see the installation box? Or, you just notice Fences still running after boot?

Thank you
Basj,
Stardock Community Assistant.

Reply #2 Top

I don't see the installation box, it js runs after the boot,
but if i click anywhere on desktop i get the message about having no trial because somehow there are fences i can't see, recently tho they appeared but still can't click them or remove them

and also if i make a rectangle selection i get the fences thingy to make a new one

Reply #3 Top

It cannot install itself after uninstalling.

Please run the uninstall tool, and if any files are left over due to some unforeseen issue, manually remove files from %programfiles(x86)%\Stardock\Fences if any files are left over after reboot.

You can also run "%programfiles(x86)%\Stardock\Fences\Fences.exe /uninstall" manually to force removal of Fences' regkeys etc, and ensure it is unregistered and therefore its files freed up for reboot.

Fences does not install any files outside of that folder, and does not do anything at all if those files are renamed or removed.