Coding a simple RTS game without any coding experience - what are the chances?

By on April 28, 2014 2:46:34 PM from Sins of a Solar Empire Forums Sins of a Solar Empire Forums

Timmaigh

Join Date 05/2009
+36

I found a nice blog which covers coding of a basic RTS game in Unity 3D... 

http://stormtek.wordpress.com/2013/01/

since creating such game is sort of my dream since i started playing them about 15 years ago, i was thinking about looking into it and giving it a try in my free time. As said in the title, i have no coding experience whatsoever...so what do you think? Is there any chance i could actually create something following that tutorial + fill possible holes by googling? Or is it without previous experience/proper education already doomed to fail? Does not have to be working game right away, just say creating a working "unit", which you would be able to select and order to move or fire would be plenty for start...

I am not asking now about not being able to finish anything, cause its a massive undertaking, especially lacking prior knowledge in the field. I am aware of that. But i am more curious whether i am very likely to run into something basically unsolvable, if the tutorial wont be specific enough? In other words, is this possible to learn by induction, meant as following step-by-step and learning by trial and error, without understanding the background/nuances/inner workings? Or is it complete no-go?

7 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
April 28, 2014 3:31:27 PM from WinCustomize Forums WinCustomize Forums

don't be afraid to fail, rather, fear to not reach your full potential!

Determination knows no bounds. I say, go for it, I just finished a Xion, my first, and also have learned to skin several apps on my own, some with assistance, either way, success feels great.

So, try and keep trying as long as time affords you the opportunity,.