AudioGalaxy Torpedoed by Dropbox

By on February 1, 2013 9:41:13 PM from WinCustomize Forums WinCustomize Forums

kku

Join Date 10/2003
+10

Yesterday (1/31/2013), I went to listen to my music library that I streamed to my iPhone using AudioGalaxy, but I got no response. I checked my file/print server which managed my music collection which I have ripped from CDs that I can produce on demand. Everything seemed OK  so I assumed that AudioGalaxy was experiencing some temporary issue. This morning I tried again, but it was still down, so I tried to get to the AudioGalaxy web site, but no response. I Googled AudioGalaxy and discovered to my horror that AudioGalaxy had been bought by Dropbox, then shutdown.

I am a retired software engineer and Window/Linux/network administrator, so I am no computer novice. I had no idea that AudioGalaxy had been bought nor that it was going to be shutdown. There was no notification at any time that this was going to happen. Apparently, Dropbox doesn't like anyone streaming perfectly legal music from a home server when they could be paying for storage space in the cloud. I wouldn't mind moving my music collection into Skydrive (I will never use Dropbox), but I live in the country with a 500Kbps upload speed and some 20GB of MP3s.

I started looking around for an alternative to AudioGalaxy and settled on Subsonic with the iSub iPhone app.

6 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
February 1, 2013 10:17:33 PM from WinCustomize Forums WinCustomize Forums

If you're "no computer novice" why the hell are you relying on some online/net/cloud system to host your junk?

....and expecting it to always be there? ....

February 1, 2013 10:21:18 PM from WinCustomize Forums WinCustomize Forums

February 1, 2013 10:33:02 PM from WinCustomize Forums WinCustomize Forums