Complete beginner at customizing Windows needs help!

By on March 14, 2011 1:32:27 PM from Stardock Forums Stardock Forums

Bodhesatva

Join Date 03/2011
+3

Hello all,

I've just begun to customize windows by myself, and have virtually no experience with it. I am not, however, a complete novice at all computer tasks and learn quickly, so I don't think I need to be taught the basics (i.e. the classic "is your computer turned on?")

My first goa is to find out which stardock application does what. IconPackager is self explanatory; I've already downloaded it and begun using it. My next goal is to change the COLOR of my start menu and windows backgrounds -- that is, when I open up my HDD and navigate files, the default background is pure white. As is the background of the start menu (the border can be changed by basic windows personalization, but the menu itself doesn't seem to be).

How can I change the color of my start menu/windows? Is that achievable in Windows alone, or do I need a Stardock app to accomplish this task? If so, which?

I have a good list of other questions, but I think I'll start here. Asking them all in a single post would be far too overwhelming. Thanks in advance!

20 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
March 14, 2011 1:42:38 PM from WinCustomize Forums WinCustomize Forums

You will get lots of answers, but let me put some resources you should checkout that will give you lots of informations.

http://wiki.wincustomize.com/wiki/Main_Page

Video demos: http://www.youtube.com/windowsthemes

http://islanddog.impulsedriven.net/article/371174/WindowBlinds_7_Visual_Walkthrough

March 14, 2011 1:59:30 PM from WinCustomize Forums WinCustomize Forums
You're gonna love it!
March 14, 2011 2:05:39 PM from WinCustomize Forums WinCustomize Forums

I would recommend ObjectDesktop as the biggest bang for the buck, but no matter what, you're going to have a steep learning curve.