drag files to dock objects? change size of system tray icons?

By on February 23, 2011 4:15:20 AM from Stardock Forums Stardock Forums

abt2

Join Date 02/2011

Hi,

I am new to ObjectDock. Currently I am running V2 beta.

I would like to drop files onto a docked application. i.e. drop an MP3 file onto foobar2000. The MP3 file should then be opened in foobar2000. How do I configure this?

Is it possible to change the size of the icons that come from the system tray? I have managed to change the size of my application icons, but the tray icons always stay the same (ugly) size.

Any help appreciated!

11 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
February 23, 2011 9:51:09 AM from Stardock Forums Stardock Forums

ObjectDock 2 is out of beta, so you can upgrade to the latest stable build, either through Impulse or the ObjectDock page. ObjectDock 2 doesn't allow for dropping files onto launchers to launch the app with the file as input. This was removed to avoid confusion between launching with the file and adding the file to the dock. Unfortunately, there isn't a setting in ObjectDock that allows for fine-tuning of system tray icon size.

March 29, 2011 12:35:47 PM from Stardock Forums Stardock Forums

Quoting Dewie,
ObjectDock 2 doesn't allow for dropping files onto launchers to launch the app with the file as input. This was removed to avoid confusion between launching with the file and adding the file to the dock.

Well, that's irritating.

I just upgraded to V2 and to my surprise found that such basic functionality removed.

It works by default in the OS, objectDock is suppose to enhance my launching/operating options, not cripple them.

To me dragging a file on an Icon to open it with this program is as intuitive as using a knife to spread jam.

ObjectDock that is at the heart of my file organization, please allow this behavior or at least the user choose it as an option!