What Warhammer 40k books should I start with?

By on June 20, 2010 6:13:20 PM from Stardock Forums Stardock Forums

Saint C

Join Date 12/2008

I've recently started reading some books dealing with the lore of Warhammer 40k and am a little overwhelmed when shopping on Amazon.  I'm pretty new to the Black Library and am looking for a little direction since it's hard to ascertain where in the timeline each one is.  I've read Eisenhorn, Rynn's World, and am currently reading the Ultramarines Omnibus.  I think next, I'm gonna look into Ravenour and some of the Horus Heresy novels.  Any direction is appreciated.

23 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
June 20, 2010 6:38:43 PM from Sins of a Solar Empire Forums Sins of a Solar Empire Forums

If it has been written by Dan Abnett, it's worth reading (or watching, in the case of the Ultramarines movie being made right now).  So Ravenor is totally worth it, as well as Brothers of the Snake (even if only for the battles at Ganahedarak where the Iron Snakes go all Ancient Spartan on a green tide of Orks with a shield-and-spear phalanx) and every single Gaunt's Ghosts novel, which fortunately should be in three omnibuses by now plus the newest novel of Blood Pact.  Titanicus is awesome too since it has lots of Titan-on-Titan warfare in it.

June 21, 2010 1:07:30 AM from Stardock Forums Stardock Forums

If it has been written by Dan Abnett, it's worth reading (or watching, in the case of the Ultramarines movie being made right now).

Yeah.  Eisenhorn is easily the best I've read so far.  I'd planned on looking into other books by Abnett.  And yeah,  I've watched the trailer for the animated movie and it looks savage!

Have you read any of the Horus Heresy books?  I feel like that's where I should start since, I assume,  they precede the other novels. 

June 21, 2010 1:29:30 AM from Sins of a Solar Empire Forums Sins of a Solar Empire Forums